Home/Active Page

B/N 884- YovunPuraya - 2016


Date of Issue:

2nd April 2016



Catalogue No. CSL 2151
Stamp Designer: Mr. Jagath Kosmodara
Sheet Composition: 20 stamps per sheet

The Philatelic Bureau of the Sri Lanka Posts has issued a new postage stamp in the denomination of Rs. 10.00 on 2nd April, 2016 to mark the Yowunpuraya – 2016.


The National Youth Council is the state institution established in terms of Gazette Extraordinary No. 14937/6 dated January 23, 1969 as per the Voluntary National Youth Services Act of Parliament No. 11 of 1967 as amended by the National Youth Services Council Act No. 58 of 1968, for the youth development activities in the country.

The Act was presented to Parliament by the then H.E. the President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, the late Hon. J.R. Jayewardene and the National  Youth services Council  was  established under the Hon. Prime Minister, the late Hon. Dudley Senanayake.

For the first time in Sri Lanka, a Ministry of Youth Affairs was established in 1978 for the advancement of the Sri Lankan youth and the present Prime Minister, Hon. RanilWickremasinghe who was the then Minister of Education, Youth Affairs and Employment, presenting the National Youth Services Council Act No. 69 of 1979 in Parliament, reorganized the activities of the National Youth Services Council in a broader manner. Under that, a number of projects such as Vocational Training Centres, Belwood Aesthetic Resort , Heyyantuduwa Sports Training Centre, National Youth Centresetc were initiated. With the intention of organizing the youth for voluntary services, the Youth Clubs Movement was launched in 1979 and as a result of that, in the decade of 1980 the activities of the National Youth Services Council received much publicity and appraisal not only in the Sri Lankan community but also in the international sphere.

The unique youth Programme, "YovunPuraya" was initiated by the then Minister of Education, Youth Affairs and Employment, Hon. RanilWickremasinghe with the objective of establishing mutual friendship, unity and co-existence among different nations, cultures and youths with numerous skills.

"YovunPuraya" programmes were held in Polonnaruwa (1984), Kuliyapitiya (1985), Matale (1986), Anuradhapura (1987), Bandarawela (1988) and Giranduru Kotte (1989). After a lapse of nearly 30 years, it is scheduled to conduct the YovunPurayaProgramme from March 30 to April 03, 2016 at the city of Sigiriya , world heritage site situated in the historic Matale District with the participation of 5000 local and foreign youths on new technological, educational, social and environmental themes.

The objective of this year's YovunPurayaProgramme is " to improve the understanding and attitudes of the Sri Lankan youth, who are at economic, social and political crossroads, on national reconciliation and consensus; to provide them with an opportunity to hone all forms of skills for youth development and also to obtain their ideas for building up dialogues by creating a platform for the contribution of youth for national development".

All rights received. All right to identify the Department of Posts as the Author and designer of this Bulleting has been asserted in accordance with the Copyright, Design and Patents Act 1988.No part to this publication may be reproduced, stored in or introduced into a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by and means (electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise) without the prior permission from the publisher. Any person who does and unauthorized act in relation to this publication may be liable to criminal prosecution and civil claims for damages.