Home/Active Page

Beginning of Postal Service in Sri Lanka

Although there was no exact date of the beginning of Postal Services in Sri Lanka, it is believed to have began in the end of the 17th centaury by the Dutch. During this period, a special boat service was also started by Dutch to exchange news within their colonial rule. It was called packet boat service and was operated by sea routes. After the Dutch captured the power of the coastal areas of this island, key Post Offices were established in Colombo, Galle, Trincomalee, Mannar and Jaffna. Later additional post offices were also established.

In 1796, the coastal areas under the Dutch rule were brought into the British domain. Captain Kennedy was appointed as the first Postmaster General by the British and the Postal Department was established under him.

In 1815 entire country was brought under British rule. Since the start of plantation industries in 1830, the necessity of a formal Postal Service was felt badly. Due to this, the number of Post Offices were increased and rapidly expanded.