Home/Active Page

Post Office Buildings in Sri Lanka

There is little evidence available on Post Offices and other Postal Buildings that were built during the Dutch rule in the Island. The Post Offices built in the main cities of Pettah, Cinnamon Gardens, Galle, Mirigama, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Negambo, Ratnapura, and Jaffna, during the British rule remain even today.

By 1890 British Government realized the necessity of a new General Post Office. Accordingly it was planned to build the new General Post Office in Colombo adjacent to the Presidential Official palace. The Chief Planner of this project was special designer of Public utilities Department Mr. Herbert Patrick Thomlin. The Construction work of the building commenced in 1881 and was completed by 1891 at a cost of Rs. 27,000.00 and was declared open in 1895.

This is one of the main Postal Buildings that were built during the British rule and when the construction work was completed, thousands of people gathered in the City of Colombo to see this colourful building.